Gluten-free, allergy-friendly, and whole foods ingredients are sometimes confusing. Everyone knows what carrots are. But what about arrowroot starch, coconut oil, umeboshi vinegar, or miso? Here is a growing glossary of ingredients that may be slightly off the beaten path.
Keep checking back for updates!
Search the glossary for entries containing:
A gluten-free byproduct of the miso-making process, tamari is very much like soy sauce, but made without wheat. Traditionally, tamari is made with soy, but South River Miso makes soy-free tamari from azuki beans and chickpeas, and excellent choice if you are sensitive to soy. True tamari should always be gluten-free.